RIP 2009 – 2016

RIP THKD IGIt’s hard to believe I’ve been running this blog for almost seven years.  That’s the longest I’ve ever stuck with any of my creative projects.  But if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that nothing lasts forever.  And so it is that effective today, I’m shutting down IG for good.

I’ve been burned out for a long time.  While I’ve lost none of my enthusiasm for heavy metal, my enthusiasm for writing about it has waned significantly over the past few years.  To make matters even more discouraging, readership and comments have also declined and even though I’ve always done this for myself first and foremost, I can’t help but a little discouraged by the significant drop-off.

While I had hoped that giving the site a makeover and changing from THKD to Isolation Grind would reinvigorate me creatively, it simply hasn’t.  Not even taking a much needed three month break from writing did anything to recharge my batteries.  And so it is that I see no other option but to shutter the site for good and move on.  I will be leaving the site up for your reading displeasure, but I will not be renewing the THKD or IG domain names and there will be no new content added.  The Facebook page will remain up for the time being.

But just because IG is over does not mean I’m done with writing.  I’ve told my readers time and again that I’d never retire and I absolutely meant it.  For a while now I’ve had the urge to start fresh and that means building something from the ground up, not just changing names and blog layouts.

Those of you that read Backlit zine might recall that I had a pro wrestling column in every issue called Doomsday Device.  I’m almost as passionate about pro wrestling as I am about metal, so I decided that it made perfect sense to somehow combine the two.  And so Doomsday Device the blog was born.  I envision this new venture as the best of both worlds and a way of making writing enjoyable again by expanding its scope, covering the best metal around and offering insightful (hopefully) commentary on the state of professional wrestling.  I realize not all metal fans dig wrestling and not all wrestling fans dig metal, but the good news is that if you’re not a fan of one there will be plenty of coverage of the other to sink your teeth into.

I want to end this by saying thanks to everyone that’s supported THKD and IG in any way over the years.  It was appreciated more than you know and I hope that at least some of you will come along with me on my next writing adventure.

http://doomsdaydevice.net/

4 thoughts on “RIP 2009 – 2016

  1. Well this sucks. I’ve been following this blog for less than a year and I have found all sorts of great music following it. Without it, I will have one less way to find great music. I hope you made the right decision in shutting it down. I will definitely miss it.

Leave a Reply

